From Moving On to Moved On

When I was cleaning up my room today, I was emptying out my vast collection of purses and noticed something: the final remnant of my last relationship.

It was a coupon from where I built a teddy bear for Doug. It was a brown bear dressed in a Knight’s costume whom he named Ned after Ned Stark in Game of Thrones.

If this were to happen to me eight months ago, I would have broke down into tears that could have filled the Atlantic Ocean five times.

Now, I just smiled, ripped up the coupon and threw it away. It is true that time heals all wounds. Originally, I thought that I couldn’t live my life without Doug because my life was so consumed by him. However, I have gotten so used to my life without him that it would seem strange for who I am now to go through that journey again.

As I was going through my things, I noticed my journal. I opened it up to a random page and saw my desperate wishes for wanting things to work out written on the page.

I had a lump in my throat but it wasn’t from missing him at all. It was from the realization of the chaos that I have been through and how much better my life is now.

I said before, moving on isn’t about finding a significant other. It is the absence of bitterness, hurt and sadness associated with a former love. Today, I can happily say that I embody this concept.

I had to hit rock bottom before getting here and I’m grateful for the success I have had. Just remember that every heartbreak gives a chance to rise from the ashes, not fall back into them.

It gives us all a chance to grow and spring forward. We will renew ourselves, all with time.

Happy Easter everyone!

Sincerely,
The Modern Day Fairy Godmother

Leave a Reply

