Extraordinary People

Your significant other is unlike anyone else. They are so special, amazing and wonderful, right? You have not met anyone else like them. Sure, they have their quirks but you wouldn’t want them any other way.

Then, stop treating them like everyone else.

Hard to grasp this concept? It’s likely you do this in the first six months of your relationship. You are now a confident, strong, empowering version of yourself and no longer allow for any stupidity in your life. That’s great but everything little thing becomes a warning sign and instead of having a balance between your head and your heart, it’s LITERALLY all in your head.

Relationships are about getting to know someone and after some time, you should know how truly extraordinary this special person in your life is. I know mine is :).

My mother always taught me that if someone is going to hurt you, they will hurt you no matter what you do. That’s a frightening concept because you always want to protect your heart but if they truly are set out to hurt you, you will be devastated, you will be disappointed and you will be hurt.

However, you will know that this person wasn’t for you.

The right one always comes along and does at the most unexpected moments. Superman amazes me every single day and I think we second-guess ourselves because we don’t think we deserve that kind of love when we do.

I’m going to get mushy here but Superman is truly the love of my life. The honesty and communication we both share allows nothing to come in between us.

One night when we were first seeing one another and resolved a disagreement I asked him if he was okay. He said he was fine. I told him that everybody says that they are fine when they are not. That’s when he said something very powerful:

“I’m not everyone”.

I’m glad he isn’t because if he was like everyone else, I wouldn’t love him the way I do.

So show your loved ones some love not just on Valentine’s Day but everyday because they truly do deserve it as much as you deserve that reciprocal love.

Sincerely,

The Modern Day Fairy Godmother

Leave a Reply

